The Salzkammergut

The beautiful and internationally well-known Salzkammergut is composed by 10 regions:

Hallstatt-Dachstein / Salzkammergut

In December 1997, the Hallstatt-Dachstein area of the Salzkammergut region was added to UNESCO’s Austrian list of sites of world cultural heritage, alongside the Schönbrunn palace monument and the old city of Salzburg. The including into the exclusive UNESCO world heritage list means this unique region is now recognised worldwide.

The committee responsible for worldwide cultural heritage applicants explained their decision thus: "The Alpine region of Hallstatt-Dachstein/Salzkammergut is an extraordinary example of a natural landscape of unique beauty and of particular scientific significance, and provides evidence of the earlier and continual activities of the people of the area in the fields of business and culture. This cultural landscape harmoniously combines nature and culture in a mutually beneficial manner".

The Salzkammergut region is wort being visited! The best route is via Abtenau by car, or you can find out about the many affordable bus and rail connections!


Tourist office Inneres Salzkammergut
Kirchengasse 4
4822 Bad Goisern am Hallstättersee
Phone: +43 (0) 6135 / 83 29